top of page

Uniform and Ranks


 When a Scout sees another person in a Scout uniform he knows that the other person has also committed himself to the principles of the Scout Oath and Law. The Scout Oath and Law bind all Scouts of the world together in a common purpose.

The following is the official uniform of Troop 208:     






Official BSA Items Provided by the Scout:                                                                 

Hat (ball cap style, Troop 208 hat preferred)                    
Shirt (tan with forest green shoulder loops)                       
Cradle of Liberty "council strip"                                               
World Crest emblem                                                               
Belt (green web belt)                                   
Pants/Shorts (green)




Items Provided by Troop 208:

Troop Numerals
Rank badges
Badges of office
Merit badges


Official placement of insignia may be found on the inside front and back covers of the Scout Handbook and here.  Insignia placement for adult leaders' uniforms may be found here.

Once you have your uniform, you are expected to wear it to troop meetings.  We also have Troop 208 T-shirts and sweatshirts ("Class B" uniform) that can be worn on outings or events where a regular uniform might become damaged or dirty. 


 Scouts usually outgrow uniforms long before they wear out, so passing them on to other Scouts who can use them is encouraged.  Used uniform shirts and pants can sometimes be found at the Bryn Athyn Thrift Shop.   New uniforms are available at the Scout Shop in the Firestone Scout Service Center at 1485 Valley Forge Road in Wayne, PA, the Scout Shop in the Bucks County Council Service Center at 1 Scout Way in Doylestown, PA, or DiGiulio's at 6948 Frankford Ave in Philadelphia, PA.  New uniforms are also available over the internet at the online Scout Shop.



Scouting provides a series of surmountable obstacles and steps in overcoming them through the advancement method. Scouts plan their own advancement and progress at their own pace as they meet each challenge. Scouts are recognized and rewarded for each achievement, which helps them gain self-confidence. The steps in the advancement system help a Scout grow in self-reliance and in the ability to help others.

Advancement is the process by which youth members of the Boy Scouts of America progress from rank to rank and is the method by which we promote and encourage the ongoing involvement and commitment that keeps members coming back for more. It works best when it is built into a unit’s program so that simply participating leads to meaningful achievement and recognition—and to a continually improving readiness for more complex experiences. Scouts advance through the following ranks: Scout, Tenderfoot, 2nd Class, 1st Class, Star, Life and Eagle.




2nd Class

1st Class




bottom of page